

Better Health Through Better Information

Annual Membership Business Meeting Sheraton Boston Hotel – Independence West Friday, November 3, 2017, 9:15-10:30 AM

President Neil Rambo convened the meeting at 9:19am with approximately 125 members present. He thanked Executive Director Louise Miller and the entire AAHSL staff for their support of the organization.

Recognition of Retiring and New/Interim Directors

Member directors who retired in the last year were recognized:

Dixie Jones Kerry O'Rourke Pat Thibodeau Julie Schneider Julia Sollenberger Jean Shipman Irma Quinoies Carlene Drake

President Rambo also recognized the 21 New/Acting/Interim Directors and welcomed them to AAHSL:

Maija Anderson, Oregon Health & Science University Elizabeth Burden, Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Crystal Cameron-Vedros, University of Kansas Jo Cates, Rush University Jerry Daly, Loma Linda University Jon Goodell, Oklahoma State University - College of Osteopathic Medicine Jamie Gray, Weill Cornell Medicine – Qatar Brenda Green, Meharry Medical College Christopher Hooper-Lane, University of Wisconsin – Madison Beth Ketterman, East Carolina University Karen Liljequist, University of Rochester Medical Center Jennifer Lloyd, Louisiana State University – New Orleans Rikke Ogawa, University of California – Los Angeles Will Olmstadt, Louisiana State University – Shreveport Jane Quigley, Dartmouth College Melissa Rethlefsen, University of Utah Carmen Santos, University of Puerto Rico Cindy Thompson, University of Missouri – Kansas City Megan von Isenburg, Duke University Medical Center Victoria Wagner, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School Philip Walker, Vanderbilt University

Introduction of 2017-2018 Fellows and Mentors

The five sets of Fellow/Mentor pairs in the 2017-2018 cohort were also recognized:

Amy Allison, Emory University Mentor: Cynthia Robinson, Penn State College of Medicine

Robin Champieux, Oregon Health and Science University Mentor: Janice Jaguszewski, University of Minnesota

Deidre (Dede) Rios, University of the Incarnate Word Mentor: Brenda L. Seago, Augusta University

Linda Van Keuren, Georgetown University Medical Center Mentor: Barbara Bernoff Cavanaugh, University of Pennsylvania

Philip Walker, Vanderbilt University Mentor: Teresa L. Knott, Virginia Commonwealth University

President's Report

President Rambo reviewed new association efforts this past year, including the formation of the Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Task Force which is well underway in their work to make this a part of AAHSL's professional culture.

The Chicago Collaborative (CC) has been discussed by the Board for many years and has now run its course and AAHSL is no longer supporting the CC or investing resources. The CC will decide the future of the effort, and if it stays active AAHSL will decide whether or not to participate.

The Competency Based Medical Education Task Force created a poster for today and will present it at the AAMC meeting. Over the next year the Task Force will write up the findings from the survey. Thanks were expressed to Task Force members Heather Collins, Nancy Adams, Emily Brennan, Megan von Isenburg, Iris Kovar-Gough, Elizabeth Lorbeer, Joey Nicholson, Rikke Ogawa, Judy Spak and Kelly Thormodson.

Rod MacNeil and the Assessment & Statistics Committee have been involved in a several-year project to transition the program to a commercial platform and streamline the whole statistics production.

Carol Jenkins retired as program director of the Future Leadership Committee. Pat Thibodeau has assumed the position.

AAHSL has signed on to a lot of issues related to access to information and scholarly communication. We work closely with MLA Headquarters in, for example, advocating for NLM and NIH budgets.

Treasurer and Headquarters Reports

Membership is 177, up from 169 in 2016. The membership breakdown is:

- 127 Full US members (up 1)
- 7 Full Canadian members (down 2)
- 25 Associate members (down 1)
- 12 New schools (up 8)
- 6 Developing schools (up 2)

There are 127 people registered for the 2017 Educational Program (up from 117 in 2016).

AAHSL continues to do well financially. The biggest ticket item in the budget remains the Future Leadership programming, which includes the Fellows program and scholarships. The third quarter financial statements are posted on the website.

Committee and Task Force Reports

Rod MacNeil reported on the activities of the Assessment & Statistics Committee. He thanked Steve Squires for staying on as Editor in a contract position since his retirement. Rod also introduced the members of the committee: Nancy Tannery, Stephanie Ferretti, Marie Ascher, Scott Thomson and Ruth Riley as Board liaison. The annual report is on the website. A radical revision of two of the surveys was done this year; the salary survey remained the same. The committee is now working on a revision to the descriptive survey which will come around again in two years.

AAHSL's statistics have been on the University of Buffalo platform for many years. We're looking at transitioning to a company called Counting Opinions which already operates surveys for many other associations. The goal is to create a more modern interface and be able to create just-in-time reports.

Eric Albright reported on the activities of the Future Leadership Committee. AAHSL just completed the 15th year of the Fellows program. Pat Thibodeau is the new program director. The committee continues to look at the program and its strengths; feedback from members is welcome.

President Rambo noted that the bulk of the work in the association is really member-driven. This year AAHSL had 88 members serving on committees and task forces. On behalf of the Board, Neil thanked everyone who served on a committee or task force this year. Thanks also to the committee and task force Chairs for their leadership this year:

Eric Albright, Future Leadership Jane Blumenthal and Laura Cousineau, Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (AAMC) Heather Collins, Competency-Based Medical Education Melissa DeSantis, Scholarly Communication Kristi Holmes, Research Services Rod MacNeil, Assessment and Statistics Joanne Muellenbach, New and Developing Libraries Cristina Pope, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Debra Ward, Program and Education Ruth Riley, Joint Legislative Task Force

New Business - There was no new Business

Nominating Committee and Election of Officers

Jane Blumenthal reported for the nominating committee members Sandra Franklin and Debra Rand. There were several nominations and the resulting slate is:

President-Elect – Judy Cohn, Rutgers University Member-at-Large – Tania Bardyn, University of Washington

MOTION: That the membership accept the slate. APPROVED

Recognition of Board Service

Past-President Ruth Riley and Director Pamela Bradigan were thanked for their service on the AAHSL Board of Directors.

Remarks from Incoming AAHSL President

Jane Blumenthal thanked Neil for his service and leadership as President, and also thanked the rest of the Board and Louise Miller and the SBI staff.

Neil has announced his retirement at the end of February. The Board has appointed Ruth Riley to fill the duration of Neil's term as Past President. Ruth was sincerely thanked for agreeing to stay on the Board for another year.

In the coming year members will see a continuation of the efforts already underway and partnerships with MLA and AAMC.

Thanks were expressed to the members for serving on committees, submitting their statistics and for being such great colleagues.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:07 am.

Drafted by Louise S. Miller, MA, CAE Reviewed by Cynthia Henderson