AAHSL Research Services Committee Annual Report 2019 November 2018 - October 2019

Committee Members:

Gabriel R. Rios, Chair – Indiana University School of Medicine Marisa Conte – University of Michigan Barbara Kern – University of Chicago Bart Ragon – University of Virginia Debra Rand, AAHSL Board Liaison - Hofstra University Melissa Rethlefsen - University of Florida Anne Seymour - Johns Hopkins Terrie Wheeler - Weill Cornell Medicine Beth Whipple (for Janice Jaguszewski mid-year) - Indiana University School of Medicine

Meetings

The Research Services Committee (RSC) met *most* months following the November 2018 AAHSL meeting.

Summary of Activities

Review of Research Services Committee Charge

In November 2018, the committee reviewed the committee charge as stated on the AAHSL website

(<u>https://aahsl.memberclicks.net/assets/documents/Committees/2018_aahsl%20researc_h%20services%20committee%20charge.pdf</u>). No additions or changes were proposed. Therefore, the charge reads as follows:

- Lead AAHSL efforts to identify trends in research topics, policies, and technologies and champion efforts to keep AAHSL members abreast of these concepts.
- Oversee and coordinate AAHSL's efforts to enhance research support services in member libraries by providing educational programs and workforce development opportunities, communicating best practices, producing and sharing resource materials, and supporting member libraries advocating new roles and opportunities in research.
- Undertake periodic surveys of AAHLS members to identify research support services provided by AAHSL libraries and help prioritize topics to be addressed by the committee.
- Seek a wide range of partners whenever possible to make progress on research initiatives where there is mutual interest.

Survey on Library Support of Research Impact Metrics

A subcommittee of RSC (Nancy Bulgarelli - Oakland University, Janice Jaguszewski -University of Minnesota, Anne Linton - George Washington University, Bart Ragon -University of Virginia, Debra Rand - Hofstra University/ Northwell Health, and Terrie Rose Wheeler - Weill Cornell Medicine) developed a survey to investigate trends in how health sciences libraries are supporting research impact metrics at their institutions. The survey was sent to AAHSL members and received responses from 64 AAHSL libraries. The information from the survey was analyzed and used to inform the development of the *Publication Impact Metrics and the Role of Academic Health Sciences Libraries* webinar. A special thanks for Terrie Wheeler for leading the effort to put the survey together and hosting it in Qualtrics.

Development of MLA CE Course

At the 2018 MLA annual meeting, members of the Research Services Committee developed a proposal for an MLA CE course titled, *Catalyzing Collaborative Culture Change in Support of the Research Enterprise*, to help librarians develop collaborations with researchers. Inspired and loosely based on the Structured Collaborative Practice Model developed by Linda Jones and Daniel Way, the course will help librarians identify new opportunities for partnership and integration into the research enterprise at their institutions through the use of case studies, and will guide participants through developing a customized institutional roadmap for collaboration. The course was approved to be taught at MLA 2019, however it did not meet the attendance requirements. A special thanks to Marisa Conte for leading this effort and being the point person with MLA.

AAHSL/NNLM Data Scholarships

Members of RSC worked with the AAHSL Board and the staff from the NNLM/PNR office to develop a subcontract proposal (\$19,000) to fund Data Scholarships. The purpose of the joint AAHSL-PNR/NNLM Research Data Professional Development Award is to strengthen the professional knowledge and experience of individuals at AAHSL institutions to improve and to build professional capacity in support of research data knowledge. This scholarship provides those selected with an opportunity to attend or experience a professional development activity related to research data knowledge and receive up to \$2000.00 in support of that activity (travel, hotel, registration, per diem). Below is the list of the ten awardees:

- Arian Abdulla, University of Virginia
- John Borghi, Stanford University
- Shanda Hunt, University of Minnesota
- Jessica Koos, Stony Brook University
- Sawyer Newman, Yale University
- Bart Ragon, University of Virginia
- Lauren Robinson, University of Kentucky
- Helenmary Sheridan, University of Pittsburgh
- Donghua Tao, Saint Louis University
- Beth Whipple, Indiana University School of Medicine

Professional development reports will be submitted over the next year as well as blog posts for the NNLM. A big thank you to Melissa Rethlefsen for leading the scoring of applicants.

Webinar: Publication Impact Metrics and the Role of Academic Health Sciences Libraries

The RSC hosted a webinar to follow-up with the Research Impact Metrics survey on October 29, 2019. The webinar was a huge success with 131 sites hosting one or more people. The post webinar survey is in process and results will be shared in the next couple of months. A special recognition goes out to the team who donated their time and resources to support the webinar. Team members included:

- Bart Ragon, University of Virginia
- Terrie Wheeler, Weill Cornell Medicine
- Debra Rand, Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
- Arian Abdulla, University of Virginia
- Caitlin Bakker, University of Minnesota
- Nancy Bulgarelli, Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
- Beth Whipple, Indiana University School of Medicine
- Anne Linton, George Washington University
- Paul Albert, Weill Cornell Medicine
- John Young, Weill Cornell Medicine
- Pawel Pyz, Weill Cornell Medicine

Proposed Future Activities

- Feedback from the webinar will be analyzed and shared with AAHSL membership.
- MLA CE Course, *Catalyzing Collaborative Culture Change in Support of the Research Enterprise*, content will be repackaged for other venues.
- Future webinars will be considered.

Respectfully submitted,

Research Services Committee