2019 Committee Report Prepared by Shannon D. Jones, Chair (<u>joneshan@musc.edu</u>) October 15, 2019

### **Committee Roster**

Board Liaison: Sandra Franklin, Emory University			
2015-2018	Shannon Jones, Chair, Medical University of South Carolina		
2016-2019	Fatima Barnes, Howard University		
2018-2021	Colleen Cuddy, Stanford University		
2018-2020	Emily Hurst, Virginia Commonwealth University		
2017-2020	Anna Beth Morgan, Mayo Clinic		
2018-2021	Joanne Muellenbach, Touro University, Nevada		
2017-2020	Anna Beth Morgan, Mayo Clinic		
2018-2021	Will Olmstadt, Louisiana State University, Shreveport		

#### Members who resigned from the committee:

2016–2019	Tiffany Moxham, University of California Riverside
2016-2019	Neil Romanosky, University of Toronto

The committee expects the appointment of two new committee members for terms beginning in 2020

## **Planning Process**

The Committee held regular monthly meetings throughout the year via WebEx and one face-to-face meeting at the 2019 MLA Annual Meeting. Program evaluations from 2018 were reviewed to assist with identification of a potential program topic and a speaker for the Matheson Lecture.

The committee divided itself into two subgroups to plan the Matheson Lecture and the Education Program.

## **Education Program**

**Subgroup:** Sandra Franklin, Emily Hurst, Shannon Jones, Anna Beth Morgan, Joanne Muellenbach, and William Olmstadt

The committee invited **Anne E. (Annie) Weisman, Ph.D., M.P.H., L.M.T.** to be the featured speaker for the 2019 Education Program. She is the Director of Wellness & Integrative Medicine for the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Nevada. Dr. Weisman specializes in integrating

2018 Committee Report

Prepared by Shannon Jones, November 1, 2018

massage therapy and other integrative practices into the care and treatment of patients. As the school's Director of Wellness & Integrative Medicine she will develop the school's wellness and integrative medicine curriculum and workshops for students, faculty and residents.

Dr. Weisman will present, *Refilling Your Cup: Burnout and Resilience for Information Professionals*. Dr. Weisman will present an overview of burnout & resilience along with the current research and literature related to both. She will discuss how we notice it in our bodies, in our workplaces, and in your organization. Dr. Weisman will address common signs and symptoms of burnout. She will teach the group several mind/body techniques they can use to regulate their nervous system. A discussion will follow on how we can change the norms and what we are modeling. We will talk about how we deserve to take the time to feed and water ourselves, get some sunlight, use the restroom, sleep and move our bodies. Strategies will be discussed to implement regular self-care into our everyday lives.

## The program outline is:

- I. Introduction and overview of burnout & resilience
- II. Review of the research and literature related to both
- III. What do you notice in your body? In your workplace? (discuss toxic workplaces and when it is time to move on) In your organization?
- IV. Common signs and symptoms of burnout
- V. Mind/body techniques to regulate central nervous system
- VI. How do we change the norms? What are we modeling?
- VII. We deserve the time to take care of ourselves. This includes basic needs such as feeding ourselves, using the restroom, taking breaks.
- VIII. Strategies will be discussed to implement regular self-care into workday
- IX. Conclusion & guestions

This program will be supplemented by lightning talks by personnel from AAHSL member libraries. Panelists will present 5-minute presentations on strategies that they have used successfully to counter burnout and resilience. Panelists include:

- *Kathryn H. Carpenter*, Professor and Associate Dean, Associate University Librarian for the Health Sciences, Library of the Health Sciences
- Tallie Casucci, Assistant Librarian, J. Willard Marriott Library, University of Utah [via VIDEO PRESENTATION]
- Alexa Mayo, Associate Director, Health Sciences and Human Services Library
- Jennifer McKinnell, Director, Health Sciences Library, McMaster University
- Gerald "Jerry" Perry, Associate Dean, Administration, Health Sciences Library
- Anne K. Seymour, Director, Welch Medical Library, Johns Hopkins University & Medicine

2018 Committee Report Prepared by Shannon Jones, November 1, 2018

- MJ Tooey, Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs; Executive Director, Health Sciences and Human Services Library; Director, National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Southeastern/Atlantic Region; Director, National DOCLINE Coordinating Office
- Melissa Rethlefsen, Associate Dean, George A. Smathers Libraries, Fackler Director, Health Science Center Libraries, University of Florida
- *Philip Walker,* Director, Annette and Irwin Eskind Family Biomedical Library and Learning CenteR, Vanderbilt University.

Fatima Barnes, Sandra Franklin, and Emily Hurst collaborated to plan the *Introducing the AAHSL Committees and Task Forces* Session. The purpose of this session is to provide an interactive opportunity for the attendees to expand their knowledge and interest in AAHSL committees and task forces, their work and accomplishments. Participants who verify visiting at least six tables during the session will be eligible to enter a prize drawing.

Time	Committees	Presenter/Confirmed
1:15 – 2:00 PM	Assessment and Statistic	Matt Wilcox
	Implementation Task Force CBME	Amy Blevins
	Diversity, Equity & Inclusion	Len Levin
	Future Leadership Committee	Heidi Heileman
	Joint Legislative Task Force	Neville Prendergast
	New and Developing Academic Health Sciences Libraries	Nadine Dexter
	Program and Education	Shannon Jones
	Research Services	Gabe Rios
	Scholarly Communication	Emily McElroy
	Library Support to Affiliated Hospitals/Health Systems: Task Force	Melissa DeSantis and/or Megan Von Isenburg

2018 Committee Report
Prepared by Shannon Jones, November 1, 2018

### **Matheson Lecture**

**Subgroup:** Fatima Barnes, Colleen Cuddy, and Shannon Jones

The Matheson Lecture subgroup lead by Colleen Cuddy identified and secured the 2019 speaker Dr. Carla Pugh, PhD, MD. Dr. Pugh is Professor of Surgery at Stanford University School of Medicine. She is also the Director of the Technology Enabled Clinical Improvement (T.E.C.I.) Center. Dr. Pugh's will present, *The Quantified MD Project: Precision Learning Through Wearable Technology*.

### 2020 Committee Leadership

Fatima Barnes will assume the committee chair for 2020. Shannon Jones will move into the Immediate Past Chair and remain on the committee until 2021.

Respectfully submitted Shannon D. Jones, Chair