AAHSL Program & Education Committee

2018 Committee Report

Prepared by Shannon Jones, November 1, 2018

Committee Roster

Judy Cohn – Board Liaison	
2015–2018	Shannon Jones, Chair, Medical University of South Carolina
2015–2018	Deborah Ward, University of Missouri
2017–2020	Anna Beth Morgan, Mayo Clinic
2015–2018	Rick Brewer, University of Kentucky
2015–2018	Allysha Eyler, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
2016–2019	Fatima Barnes, Howard University
2016–2019	Heidi Heilemann, Stanford University
2016–2019	Tiffany Moxham, University of California Riverside
2016–2019	Neil Romanosky, University of Toronto

New committee members for 2019 are:

- Colleen Cuddy, Stanford University
- Emily Hurst, Virginia Commonwealth University
- Joanne Muellenbach, Touro University, Nevada
- Will Olmstadt, Louisiana State University, Shreveport

Planning Process

The Committee held its first virtual meeting via Zoom in March 2018 followed by a face- to-face meeting at the 2018 MLA Annual Meeting in Atlanta. We held multiple meetings during summer 2018 as needed. Program evaluations from 2016 and 2017 were reviewed to assist with identification of a potential program topic and a speaker for the Matheson Lecture.

As in previous years, the committee was divided into two subgroups: one focused on planning the Matheson Lecture; and the other focused on the Education Program. Feedback from the 2017 evaluation, indicated a desire for a program on diversity and inclusion. The committee met with the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task force to make sure the program would align with the TF work.

Education Program

Subgroup: Judy Cohn, Allysha Eyler, Shannon Jones, Anna Beth Morgan, and Deborah Ward

Building on the AAHSL membership's desire for a program that is both informative and interactive, the committee worked diligently to develop an educational program that met that desire. To begin our work, the group solicited feedback from the AAHSL membership via its listserv and reviewed previous evaluation forms. Feedback from the 2017 evaluation, indicated a desire for a program related to diversity, equity, and inclusion. In fact, the topic was considered for the 2017 program but the committee

AAHSL Program & Education Committee

2018 Committee Report

Prepared by Shannon Jones, November 1, 2018

thought it was best to table the topic to allow AAHSL's newly appointed Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee to begin its work. The 2018 program is a partnership with the committee.

The committee assembled a list on potential speakers which included Dr. Sharonne Hayes. Dr. Hayes was nominated by committee member Anna Beth Morgan from the Mayo Clinic. Anna Beth was tasked with formally inviting Dr. Hayes to lead the program which she graciously accepted. Sharonne N. Hayes, MD, FACC, FAHA is Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Founder of Women's Heart Clinic.. Dr. Hayes is also the Director of Diversity and Inclusion for the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. solicited feedback from the AAHSL membership. The learning objectives for program are:

- Define discuss the effects of culture, race, and ethnicity, cultural agility, inclusion, bias and stereotype threat.
- Explore how the various dimensions of diversity influence our experience at work and in our communities.
- Develop a deeper understanding of unconscious bias and its impact on ourselves and others.
- Identify strategies that promote inclusionary behavior and mitigate bias in the workplace.

The final program is included as an appendix to this report.

Matheson Lecture

Subgroup: Rick Brewer, Fatima Barnes, Tiffany Moxham, and Neil Romanosky

The 2017 Matheson Lecture planning team of Rick Brewer, Fatima Barnes, Tiffany Moxham lead by Shannon Jones identified and secured the 2018 speaker Dr. Atul Butte. Dr. Butte had been a sought after speaker for the Matheson Lecture for several years but was not available for 2017. Dr. Butte's early acceptance of the group's invitation allowed the 2018 group to focus on identifying potential speakers for the 2019 lecture. Dr. Atul Butte is Distinguished Professor and Inaugural Director for the Institute for Computational Health Sciences at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Butte's talk is titled, *Translating a Trillion Points of Data into Therapies*, *Diagnostics, and New Insights into Disease*.

2019 Program Planning

Shannon Jones will continue as committee chair for 2019.

Respectfully submitted Shannon D. Jones, Chair, 2018