Joint MLA/AAHSL Legislative Task Force

2011 Annual Report

The Joint Legislative Task Force supports advocacy efforts of AAHSL and MLA and consists of membership from both organizations. The position of chair rotates between the two organizations every two years. Jane Blumenthal, representing AAHSL, is the current chair of the task force. Hope Barton representing MLA currently serves as vice-chair. Key support for this joint program is provided by MLA Legislative Staff Liaison, Mary Langman. The task force meets annually in Washington, DC to conduct business and to meet with members of Congress or their staff.

The spring 2011 meeting was held March 28-29 in Washington, DC, and was reported in the Task Force's Midyear Report.

A meeting is scheduled for April 10-11, 2012 during which time the task force will address issues that include securing the highest possible level of funding in Fiscal Year 2012 and 2013 for the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Invitations to meet with the task force will be extended to Dave Moore, Executive Director of the Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research and Vice President, Government Relations, Association of American Medical Colleges; Betsy Humphreys, Deputy Director, National Library of Medicine; and Jerry Sheehan, Assistant Director for Policy Development, National Library of Medicine.

Legislative Priorities

Congressional activity and legislation is vast and requires the Task Force to establish priorities that focus on legislation most relevant to MLA and AAHSL. Due to the ongoing federal budget situation, the major 2011 legislative priority was NLM and NIH funding.

Other legislative priorities include

- National Health Information Policy (NLM Funding, IMLS Funding, Healthcare Reform, Intellectual Property and Copyright Law)
- Health Care and Public Health Information Resources (Telemedicine and Telehealth, Patient Privacy, Public Access to Government Information, Consumer and Patient Health Information)
- **Health Information Technologies and Bioinformatics** (NIH Roadmap Initiative, Interoperable Health information Technology Infrastructure)
- **Civil Liberties** (USA Patriot Act Reauthorization)

Statements, Letters, and Action Alerts

In October, Donna Timm, chair of MLA's Governmental Relations Committee, and Pat Thibodeau, AAHSL president, submitted comments on behalf of the two associations in response to a request from NIH for Input into the Deliberations of the Advisory Committee to the NIH Director Working Group on the Future Biomedical Research Workforce.

In September, MLA and AAHSL signed onto a <u>Coalition for Health Funding letter</u> to leaders of the House and Senate Appropriations Committee and members of the House and Senate Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations Subcommittees urging them to make NIH FY 2012 funding a national priority.

In August, MLA and AAHSL signed onto an <u>Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research</u> <u>letter</u> requesting that the National Institutes of Health (NIH) be recognized as a critical national priority in the FY 2012 Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations bill.

In July, Barbara Epstein, chair of MLA's Ad Hoc Committee for Advocating Scholarly Communications and Pat Thibodeau, AAHSL president, submitted comments on behalf of the two associations in response to an NIH request for information on the reduction of cost and burden associated with federal cost principles for educational institutions (OMB Circular A-21, 2CFR Part 220).

Joint MLA/AAHSL Testimony in Support of NLM's FY 2012 Appropriation as submitted to the **House** and **Senate** Labor-HHS and Education Subcommittees; April 15, 2011.

<u>Joint MLA/AAHSL National Library of Medicine Fact Sheet</u> requesting support for NLM's FY 2012 appropriation; March 2011.

MLA and AAHSL signed the **Coalition for Health Funding request** for \$65 billion for discretionary public health programs in the FY 2012 budget resolution; March 24, 2011.

<u>Joint MLA/AAHSL Letters</u> to House and Senate Appropriations Committees and Labor, HHS and Education Subcommittees in support of NIH and NLM FY 2011 funding; November 2, 2010

MLA and AAHSL signed the <u>Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research Letter</u> urging support for FY 2011 funding for the NIH, November 1, 2010

Public policy updates on NLM and NIH funding were published in MLA-FOCUS. Multiple action alerts were issued about NLM funding.

Membership

Jane L. Blumenthal, Chair, AAHSL Cynthia L. Henderson, AAHSL Regina Kenny Marone, AAHSL Neil Rambo, AAHSL Patricia Thibodeau, AAHSL President

Carla J. Funk, MLA Executive Director Mary M. Langman, Staff Liaison

Hope Barton, Vice Chair, MLA Barbara A. Epstein, MLA Linne' Girouard, MLA Jerry Perry, MLA President Donna Timm, MLA