NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program 

Program Overview | Current RosterProgram Graduates | Reports | Program Evaluations

Congrats to our selected 2022-2023 Cohort!

Learn about our New Director Buddy Program!

The applications for the 2022-2023 Fellows Program have closed. Thank you to those who applied!

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL) is pleased to announce the selection of the 2022/2023 Fellows Program cohort. Details about past years' cohorts and program reports are available. 

The Leadership Fellows Program recognizes and values the importance of diversity and inclusion in enriching and supporting the mission of academic health sciences libraries, and actively seeks applications from individuals with varying identities and backgrounds.  

NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program

The Leadership Fellows Program seeks candidates who are emerging leaders in health sciences libraries and who are passionate about the importance of leadership skills and knowledge to the future of academic health sciences libraries.  Leadership fellows join a small cohort of like-minded colleagues and become part of a network of fellows and mentors who have gone through the program over prior years.  Fellows are paired with mentors who are academic health sciences library directors. In addition to the individual relationship with their mentors, fellows benefit from working collaboratively with other fellows and mentors. Experienced Program faculty and mentors will provide content and facilitation for the cohort. The program blends online learning and in-person activities to create a strong learning community. 


Fellows:  The NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program is designed for librarians with prior management experience. In most cases, the baseline for candidates to be considered for selection is a minimum of three to five years of experience that demonstrates a career track in administrative positions or progressive leadership responsibilities.  Candidates for Fellow should have a strong interest in pursuing a directorship in academic health sciences libraries. The program welcomes applications from professionals working in academic health sciences libraries, hospital libraries, or other library-related settings.

Back to top

NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program 2022-2023

From left to right: Melissa Kahili-Heede (fellow), Kelly Thormodson (mentor), Diana Delgado (fellow), Jennifer McKinnell (mentor), Elizabeth (Beth) Whipple (fellow),
Dale Prince (mentor), Michelle Harrell (fellow), Catherine Soehner (mentor), Holly Grossetta Nardini (fellow), Philip Walker (mentor)

Diana Delgado, AHIP
Associate Director, Information, Education and Clinical Services, Samuel J Wood Library
Weill Cornell Medicine, New York, NY

Mentor:  Catherine Soehner, MLS
Associate Dean for Research and Director, Spencer S Eccles Health Sciences Library
University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT

Michelle L. Harrell
Assistant Director, Public Services and Education, Medical College of Wisconsin Libraries
Medical College of Wisconsin; Milwaukee, WI

Mentor:  Philip Walker, MLIS, MSH
Director, Eskind Biomedical Library
Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 

Elizabeth (Beth) C. Whipple, MLS, AHIP
Assistant Director for Research and Translational Sciences, Ruth Lilly Medical Library
Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN 

Mentor: Jennifer McKinnell, MA, MLIS
Director, Health Sciences Library
McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario 

Holly Grossetta Nardini, MS
Associate Director, Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library
Yale University, New Haven, CT 

Mentor:  J. Dale Prince, MA, MLS
Director of Libraries, John P. Ische Library
Louisiana State University Health – New Orleans, New Orleans, LA

Melissa Kahili-Heede
Librarian III, John A Burns Health Sciences Library
University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, HI

Mentor:  Kelly Thormodson, MALS
Associate Dean for Library & Information Services, Library Director, Harrell Health Sciences Library: Research and Learning Commons
Penn State College of Medicine, Hershey, PA

Back to Top

Fellow Graduates

Back to top


Back to top


Back to top

For more information about the program, please contact Judy Cohn, Program Director, AAHSL Future Leadership Committee, [email protected].